Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Paying too much for broadband? Move to PlusNet broadband and save£££s. Free setup now available - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.  


e.on Camster Community Fund Panel - Newsletter

16th September 2014

Photograph of e.on Camster Community Fund Panel - Newsletter

Year 1 September 2013 to August 2014

Welcome to the first newsletter from the Camster Community Fund Panel, a group of local volunteers established to make decisions on the Community Fund provided by E.ON the developers of the E.ON Camster Wind Farm.

The Panel of 12, made up of three local community representatives and a Community Councillor from each of the three Community Council areas benefiting from the Fund, makes decisions on how the Fund should be spent.

After the Fund successfully launched at an event in Thrumster last year, Year 1 of the Fund (September 2013 - August 2014) has seen a total of 24 awards made from the Fund over two rounds.

Starting from Year 1, E.ON is contributing at least £150,000 per annum for 25 years or for the lifetime of the wind farm. In subsequent years the amount will be based on the Year 1 contribution adjusted by Retail Price Index. This amount is split equally between the three Community Council areas.

Year 2014 Year 1: September 2013 to August 2014

The Panel

The Panel was formed in August 2012 to make decisions about Fund strategy overall and on each application for funding. The Panel will usually see some changes each year ensuring a continuous flow of fresh faces balanced with the experience of serving members. Vacancies for community representatives will be advertised locally on a rolling basis.

The Panel is currently made up as follows:
Latheron, Lybster & Clyth - Three community representatives: Maureen Coghill, Margaret Larnach and Margaret Sinclair. One Community Councillor: Duncan Winfield.
Tannach & District - Three community representatives: Simon Harrison, John Inkster and George Heppel. One Community Councillor: Elizabeth Henderson.
Watten - Three community representatives: Valerie MacKenzie, John Sinclair and Lesley Anne Young. One Community Councillor: Jim MacDonald.

Summary of awards made in Year 1 from the E.ON Camster Community Fund

Latheron Lybster & Clyth CC area awards:
Lybster School Eco Committee £2,898 - To purchase equipment and materials.
Clyth Burial Ground Association £1,398 - To replace the graveside soil box and artificial grass.
Lybster Heritage Trust £5,500 - Towards a building to house a replica yawl.
Clyth Community Association £3,112 - To replace the main and fire door and purchase a PA system.
LLC Community Development Company £6,300 - Towards costs of hiring a Resource Centre Manager.
LLC Community Council £2,500 - To provide a community micro-grant scheme for 2013/14.
North Lands Creative Glass £4,861 - Towards running a community glass-making programme.
Lybster Daycare Association £3,150 - For a new dish-washer, cooker and floor coverings.
Lybster Golf Club £5,000 - Towards the purchase of a new tractor (withdrawn by group).
South Lybster Residents Group £1,474 To improve lighting and make repairs to play area walls.
Latheron Agricultural Society £5,000 - To purchase a marquee.
Clyth Community Association £3,038 - To replace hall curtains.
Lybster Outdoor Bowling Club £4,492 - Towards hall refurbish-ment.
Lybster School Parent Council £460 - Pottery workshop for schoolchildren.

Tannach & District CC area awards:

Tannach & District Community Council £2,500 - To provide a community micro-grant scheme for 2013/14.
Bilbster and Thuster Hall Committee £2,178 - Towards replacing the hall roof.
Friends of Newton Hill Woodland £13,500 - Towards converting an abandoned croft house into a community cottage.
Thrumster Parent Council £10,000 - To purchase a purpose-built outdoor classroom.
Yarrows Heritage Trust £6,000 - To open up a walkway along a former rail track.
Stirkoke Rifle Club £5,640 To fit windows to the clubhouse.

Watten CC area awards:

Watten Community Council £6,800 - To improve the storage unit for Christmas lights and equipment.
Watten Community Council £2,500 - To provide a community micro-grant scheme for 2013/14.
Watten Improvements Group £40,000 - Towards refurbishing the play area.
Watten Hall Committee £3,531 - To replace tables (paying in Year 2).

For more information about the Fund check out
or contact : Carol Elliot - Foundation Scotland,
22 Calton Road, Edinburgh, EH8 8DP
Tel: 07500 779 227 or 0131 524 0300
E-mail: carol[AT]

The Fund is administered on behalf of the community by Foundation Scotland, more information about the Fund can be found at:
You can also follow Foundation Scotland on Facebook and Twitter.

[Printer Friendly Version]