Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Paying too much for broadband? Move to PlusNet broadband and save£££s. Free setup now available - terms apply. PlusNet broadband.  


Polling takes place on Thursday for Landward Caithness by-election

25th November 2013

Photograph of Polling takes place on Thursday for Landward Caithness by-election

On Thursday (28 November 2013) voting begins in the Landward Caithness By-election with polling stations opening their doors at 7am and remaining open for voters until 10pm.

The electorate for the Ward is 8,588. Anyone who has applied for a postal vote who may not yet have posted their ballot paper is reminded that they can hand it in to any of the polling stations up until 10 pm on Thursday.

The 14 polling stations are:

Castletown Drill Hall
Reay Hall
Ross Institute, Halkirk
Bower Community Hall
Watten Hall
Britannia Hall Dunnet
Canisbay Hall
Keiss Amenities Hall
Reiss Hall
Assembly Rooms, Wick
Thrumster Hall
Lybster Community Centre
Dunbeath Village Hall
Free Church Hall, Millbank Road, Thurso

The count will take place on Friday (29 November) at Wick Assembly Rooms starting at 9.30 am.

The candidates are:

Ed Boyter, Scottish National Party (SNP);

Kerensa Carr, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Tina Irving, Independent

Matthew Reiss, Independent

Winifred Sutherland, Independent

The Highland Council is made up of 80 elected members. The current representation is Independent 32; Scottish National Party 21; Liberal Democrats 14; Labour 8; Independent Nationalist 1 Non-aligned 2 with 2 Vacancies 1 for Landward Caithness and 1 for the Black Isle ward.

[Printer Friendly Version]